Who are the School Governors and what do they do?

School Governors work with the Headteacher to set the future direction for the school and decide how the school's budget should be spent. Governors provide the Headteacher with support and advice, drawing on their knowledge and experience. They ask searching questions and respect the Headteacher's position as professional leader of the school.

Governing Bodies make decisions collectively on matters such as performance targets, school policies and the school's development plan. Governors monitor the impact of policies and oversee the use of the school's budget. They report to parents on the school's achievements and respond to inspection recommendations. They hear appeals from pupils and staff and consider complaints.


Governors are committed individuals who have the time, energy and want to make a difference, by active participation in Committees and attendance at school events and functions.


Within the Governing Body are four committees who have delegated power from the main Governing Body to produce, review and agree policies:



The main function of this committee is to advise the senior staff on matters relating to the maintenance and development of the buildings and sites. To ensure the school provides a safe, healthy and sustainable environment for pupils, staff and visitors. They will promote the image of the school and insure good relations with different constituencies within the school and groups within the local community. The committee will also review the draft budget and in-year spending information prepared by the Bursar and Senior Staff each year and present the final draft for the approval at the June/July FGB meeting in time for submission of the budget plan to the EFA by the 31st July.



The main function of this committee will be to inform themselves and then advise on curriculum content and organisation.  To review the factors that underpins the schools aims and objectives to support effective curriculum provision.


Review the GCSE and A-Level examination results against the predicted, expected results. Analyse the examination results for each subject against past and National results.


Categories of Governors Summary

The Governing Body will be made up of different numbers and categories of governors.  In brief, there are the following categories of school governor:


Co-opted Governors (13) - appointed by the Governing Body to represent community interests

  •      Headteacher  (1)
  •      Parent Governors (2) - selected by election (or appointment if insufficient people stand for election)
  •      Staff Govenors (1) - selected by election from Teaching and Support Staff paid to work at the school.

Governor Committee and Link Departments 

Declaration of Interests for Trustees & Members of Newlands Girls' School - 2016 - 2017

Declaration of Interests for Trustees & Members of Newlands Girls' School - 2017 - 2018

Trustee Report and Financial Statements for the period ending 31st August 2016

Trustee Report and Financial Statements for the period ending 31st August 2017 

Time off for Trade Union Representatives 

Memorandum of Association and Articles

Funding Agreement - October 2015

Governor Meetings - 2016 - 2017

Governor Meetings - 2017 - 2018

Governor Meetings - 2018 - 2019

Composition of FGB Meeting Attendance - 2016 - 2017

Composition of FGB Meeting Attendance - 2017 - 2018

Composition of FGB Meeting Attendance - 2018 - 2019

The Governing Body Committee Membership at Newlands Girls' School for 2018 - 2019 is made up of: 

Elected Parent Governors

 Mr Huw Buckle
 Ms Clare Vincent

Co-Opted Governors

Mr Stephen Bridge (Acting Chair)
Ms Sofia Gondal
Dr Clare Jones
Mr Bart Leach
Mr Paul Manby (Acting Vice Chair)
Mr Tahir Mahmood
Mr Patrick McMaster
Mrs Caroline Mulvihill
Mr Karnail Pannu
Mr Richard Preece
Mrs Farah Sheikh
Mrs Hannah Wheeler



Dr Louise Ceska 

Staff Governors

Mrs Lesley Allaway   

Clerk to Governors 

Mrs R. Tilley


Mr Matthew Henshaw - Deputy Headteacher
Miss Jo Capon - Deputy Headteacher
Mr Justin O'Connell - Assistant Headteacher
Mrs Suzanne Nuttycombe - Assistant Headteacher
Mrs Helen Walker - Assistant Headteacher                                                                    
Mrs Gemma Walton - Assistant Headteacher - Maternity Leave 2018



In This Section