House Structure

Our House System consists of six houses.  These are:

Austen  Bronte Curie Darling Earhart Frank

The house system provides an opportunity for pupils to meet and socialise with students in other year groups.    Please click here to see the Heads of House and here for the house structure.


Throughout the year pupils take part in sporting events.


In return for Effort, Attainment and Wider Contribution, pupils are encouraged to collect house points.  This promotes healthy competition between pupils and houses.   Pupils achieving high numbers of house points from any three categories are rewarded in assembly, 3 times a year.  For example, house points can be awarded to a pupil for consistently attending Gardening Club, this would come under the umbrella of 'Wider Contribution'.  Five or ten house points can be awarded at any one time.  


Please click here for the House Points results for the last academic year.

    Please see below a brief profile of the House names:


Jane Austen - (16 December 1775 – 18 July 1817) was an English novelist whose works of romantic

fiction, set among the landed gentry, earned her a place as one of the most widely read writers in English literature.


Bronte sisters - were a 19th century literary family associated with Haworth in the West Riding of Yorkshire, England. The sisters, Charlotte (born 21 April 1816), Emily (born 30 July 1818), and Anne (born

17 January 1820), are well known as a trio of sibling poets and novelists.


Marie Curie - (7 November 1867 – 4 July 1934) was a Polish–French physicist–chemist famous for her pioneering research on radioactivity. She was the first person honored with two Nobel Prizes[1]—in physics and chemistry. She was the first female professor at the University of Paris. She was the first woman to be entombed on her own merits (in 1995) in the Paris Panthéon.


Grace Darling -  (24 November 1815 – 20 October 1842) was an English Victorian heroine who in 1838, along with her father, saved 13 people from the wreck of the SS Forfarshire.


Amelia Earhart -  (July 24, 1897; missing July 2, 1937, declared legally dead January 5, 1939) was a noted American aviation pioneer and author. Earhart was the first woman to receive the U.S. Distinguished Flying Cross, awarded for becoming the first aviatrix to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean. She set many other records, wrote best-selling books about her flying experiences and was instrumental in the formation of The Ninety-Nines, an organization for female pilots.


Anne Frank - (12 June 1929 – early March 1945) is one of the most renowned and most discussed Jewish victims of the Holocaust. Acknowledged for the quality of her writing, her diary has become one of

the world's most widely read books, and has been the basis for several plays and films.